Mr. Mayank Tater 19, May 2022

Cricket around the world is one of the most celebrated games. With various national and international leagues being conducted, one of the most popular series after the Cricket World Cup is the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The championship of the shortest format of the cricket the Twenty20.  The tournament is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the cricket governing body internationally. In this blog, we are going to discuss The Winners of the ICC T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2022. 

T20 World Cup Teams and Participation

The current format of the tournament has 16 teams participating, where the top ten teams are chosen from the rankings at the given deadline, and the other six other teams are chosen with the qualifier match. The event was expected to take place once every two years, but with the outbreak of the pandemic and some other unavoidable circumstances, India could not host the event for the last five years (The last event was held in 2016). 

The 2018 twenty 20 world cup edition was dropped by the end of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy and the 2020 edition was scheduled to take place in Australia. Due to the outbreak of COVID-19, the event was rescheduled to take place in 2021, with India being the host.  As the conditions in India weren’t good, the matches were relocated to the UAE and Oman. You can enjoy the T20 World Cup final highlights before the new season begins on your favorite sports channels.

To date, there have been seven tournaments, with the West Indies being the only country to win the title multiple times. The first World Twenty20 was held in South Africa, with India being the winner of the season by defeating Pakistan in the finals at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.  

The much-awaited event is back in Australia and we cannot wait to see what it brings with it. Before we buckle up for what’s in store, let’s have a quick look at the ICC World Cup winners list. 

t20 world cup winners list from 2007

T20 world cup winners list (2007-2022)

Year  Winners Runners Up Venue
2022 To be announced Australia
2021 Australia New Zealand Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England India
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2007 India Pakistan South Africa

Here’s the t20 world cup winners list from 2007.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner – India

The first to win the title was the country where the game is no less than a religion. Indian cricket team won the first T20 World Cup title, under Captain Cool, MS Dhoni. It was a cut-throat fight where India defeated Pakistan by 5 runs. The team lost just one game in the whole tournament against New Zealand. Pakistan too played well during the series, with “Shahid Afridi” being named the Player of the Series and Umar Gul being the highest wicket-taker. 

1983 World Cup India Squad:

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner – Pakistan

Pakistan was the runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, and it was all set to be the winner in the next season. The game was in  England and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka to lift the trophy in the t20 world cup final. Surely, the team performed well with Umar Gul being the highest wicket-taker in the series. 

With an uneven Super 8 session, they managed to pave their way to victory. 

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner – England

In its third edition, the tournament saw a non-Asian team lift the trophy. England defeated their Ashes rival in the finals. Although the team started the tournament with a defeat, they managed to reach the top easily. 

Kevin Pieterson was declared the “Player of the Series” in the tournament.  

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies

The Caribbean team lifted the trophy defeating the host Sri Lanka in the final clash. They too started with a defeat, but then failures are just lessons that we missed. West Indies performed well with a display of great cricket to be the winners of the edition. 

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka defeated the t20 world cup winners from the first edition, India, to take the title of T20 World Cup winner in 2014. The country lost just one match in the group stage against England. Although “Player of the Series” in the tournament was backed by Virat Kohli. 

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

The only team to appear twice in the t20 world cup winners list is the Caribbean Country. The team defeated England in the tournament held in India. West Indies out-performed in the series with just one defeat against Afghanistan. 

The final was a cut-throat competition and but the team was all determined to lift the trophy again. 

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner – Australia

After a wait of long five years, the seventh edition of the tournament was backed by Australia. The country defeated New Zealand to be the winners and lift the trophy. Although the runner-up team won hearts with their sweet gestures, the winners showcased some class cricket. 

India vs Zimbabwe 1983 World Cup Highlights

T20 World Cup 2022

This year the ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be played in Australia. And the fantasy sports applications are betting high revenue from the season. 

This is the ICC T20 world cup all-winners list. We all are anticipating a new winner in this edition. 

T20 World Cup Top Run Scorer, Highest Wicket Taker & Player of the Series:-

Year Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker
2021 Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga
2016 Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi
2014 Virat Kohli Virat Kohli
Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir
2012 Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis
2010 Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes
2009 Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul
2007 Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul

T20 World Cup Commonly Asked Questions 

Which teams in the past have won the T20 World Cup?

India, Pakistan, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and recently in the list Australia have won the ICC T20 World Cup till now.

Which team won the first T20 World Cup?

The first country to win the T20 world cup was India. They lifted the trophy defeating their arch-rivals Pakistan.

Who won the T20 World Cup 2021?

Australia won the latest edition of the ICC T20 World Cup defeating the Kiwis in the UAE and Oman.

When did Pakistan win the T20 World Cup?

Pakistan won the 2009 edition of the T20 World Cup against Sri Lanka.

How many T20 World Cups has India won?

India has won the T20 World Cup just once and missed it by a close margin in 2014 to Sri Lanka. 

Longest sixes in IPL history:

The announcement of the next edition of the T20 World Cup has evoked enthusiasm in cricket buffs to see what this brings for them.