Mr. Mayank Tater 09, Aug 2022

The Asia Cup 2022 begins on August 27 in the UAE implying Indian selectors have made their decisions and the team has been announced for the multi-nation event. Captain Rohit Sharma is fit and available and will be leading the squad against the Asian counterparts.

KL Rahul returns to the team after covid and surgery and has been named the vice-captain of the Indian team. Rahul last played in the IPL and has been unavailable for selection since then. He is likely to open the innings alongside Rohit Sharma. Also, Virat Kohli has been picked for the Asia Cup after a break of around 40 days after the England tour.

Unfortunately, Jasprit Bumrah has not been named in the squad announced yesterday as he is currently recovering from a back injury at the NCA, Bengaluru. Harshal Patel is also suffering from a rib injury and undergoing rehab at the NCA.

Avesh Khan has been trusted by the selectors and the management after not having good outings in West Indies. He will form the Indian pace attack alongside Bhuvi and Arshdeep Singh.

Keeping the conditions in UAE in mind India has gone with 4 spinners in their 15- Ravi Bishnoi, Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Yuzi Chahal. Deepak Hooda has also made it to the squad on the back form on some good form from the IPL.

Shreyas Iyer and Axar Patel did not find a place for themselves, Axar has been dropped while Shreyas’ name is on the standby list.

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul(vc), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant(wk), Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Deepak Hooda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzi Chahal, Avesh Khan 

Players on standby- Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

Read more:- The Winners of the ICC T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2022

India’s Asia Cup campaign begins on the 28th vs Pakistan in a group game. The Super4 stage will begin on September 3rd with the final set to be played on the 11th of September 2022.