Mr. Mayank Tater 06, Jul 2022

  • Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Rishabh are the noticeable absentees and it can be assumed that they have been rested.
  • Shikhar Dhawan has been named the captain for the series and Ravindra Jadeja will be his deputy.
  • Youngsters Arshdeep Singh and Sanju Samson have also been given an opportunity to showcase their skills.


BCCI on Wednesday named the ODI squad for the West Indies and USA tour in July-August. The tour will start with the 1st ODI being played on 22nd July, followed by the 2nd on 24th, and the 3rd on the 27th of July. All the three ODIs will be played in Port of Spain, Trinidad at the Queen’s Park Oval Ground.

The 5 T20Is series will be played later from the 29th of July in the West Indies and the USA.

Shikhar Dhawan has been entrusted by the selectors to lead the side in absence of other senior players once again. He led India thrice last year on the tour of Sri Lanka in ODIs last year.

He will have Ruturaj Gaekwad to open with him who has been trusted once again by the Indian selectors while they have also named Shubman Gill as a backup opener.

The 16-men squad includes 5 pacers Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, and Arshdeep Singh who gets his maiden ODI call-up. Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, and Ravindra Jadeja are the main spinners in the squad.

Rishabh Pant has been rested after a long time, and Ishan Kishan will keep wickets in his absence. Sanju Samson has been named as the backup wicketkeeper.

India tour of West Indies 2022 squad- (ODIs)

  1. Shikhar Dhawan(Captain),
  2. Ravindra Jadeja(Vice Captain),
  3. Shardul Thakur,
  4. Sanju Samson,
  5. Avesh Khan,
  6. Deepak Hooda,
  7. Yuzvendra Chahal,
  8. Suryakumar Yadav,
  9. Arshdeep Singh,
  10. Mohammed Siraj,
  11. Ishan Kishan(Wicket Keepr),
  12. Shreyas Iyer,
  13. Axar Patel,
  14. Prasidh Krishna,
  15. Shubman Gill,
  16. Ruturaj Gaekwad