Mr. Mayank Tater 14, Jul 2022

  • Virat Kohli is not included in the squad for the West Indies.
  • KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav return to the squad subject to fitness.
  • Ravichandran Ashwin makes his return in the T20i format.

The squad for the West Indies was awaited for 3-4 days and has been announced finally.

Virat Kohli is omitted from the squad and it is unclear whether selectors have dropped him or he has been rested.

Virat has been going through a rough patch and has not been amongst the runs lately. If he is in India’s T20 World Cup plans, India and Virat himself both need him to get some runs as soon as possible.

Sanju Samson has once again been overlooked by selectors, while Umran Malik has also not been given another opportunity.

Ravi Ashwin has been rewarded with a well-deserved comeback in the side after having a terrific IPL.

It can be understood that Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal have been rested.

India Squad for West Indies T20 2022

Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.