Ashok Kumar Bagri 20, Jun 2022

Highlights of India vs South Africa 5th T20I 2022 – South Africa tour of India 5-match Twenty20 international series -the 5th T20I match played between South Africa and India at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on June 19th, 2022.


The closely contested series between India and South Africa faced an anti-climax as the series ended 2-2 due to the last match being washed out due to persistent rain. South Africa won the first two games, but India managed to stage a good comeback to save the series.


The 5th T20I was interrupted by rain at the start, making it a 19-over contest. The match continued for 3.3 overs until the rain Gods returned and the game had to be abandoned. In the 3.3 overs, India managed to score 28 for the loss of 2 wickets. Both the openers fell to SA paceman Lungi Ngidi. Ishan Kishan scored 15 off 7 and Ruturaj scored 10 of 12 deliveries. Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer were still at the crease when the match stopped.

Positives for India from this series-

The biggest positive was Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bhuvi was exceptional with the ball in the entire series amassing 6 wickets in all. Avesh Khan had a decent series picking 4 Harshal was also good taking wickets at crucial intervals in the 4th T20I. With the bat, Ishan played some good knocks at the top of the order and tonked the ball hard for huge sixes. Dinesh Karthik was the star with the bat, the comeback man played a crucial knock of 55 of 27 deliveries on a difficult pitch at Rajkot to guarantee India a win.


Rahul Dravid stuck to the same playing XI for 5 continuous games giving ample opportunities to the 11 men who played. This strategy is good in the way that the players were backed and trusted to perform by the coach.

Player of the Series

Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 6 wickets

What’s Next? 

India will now be up against Ireland for two T20I series on the 26th and 28th of June. Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer will be leaving for England from this series, while Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, and Suryakumar Yadav will be key additions to the squad for Ireland.

Read more:- 10 Longest sixes in IPL history: Biggest sixes in IPL by Powerful Hitters

Youngsters like Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik, who didn’t get a chance to play against South Africa, are likely to make their international debut against Ireland.



Hardik Pandya (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Umran Malik, Rahul Tripathi, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Read more – How to Create a Winning Fantasy Cricket Team Simple Steps


Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Gareth Delany, Lorcan Tucker, Harry Tector, Paul Stirling, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Conor Olphert, George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Craig Young, Curtis Campher, Stephen Doheny, and Barry McCarthy.