Mr. Mayank Tater 04, Aug 2022

We Will Act, Fight, and Win!!!

The two time champions, the team with the longest winning streak, the team to win the trophy with the highest run chase, and what not. The Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the most popular teams in the IPL. As IPL 2022 wound up, the speculations for the expected KKR retained players 2023 began. Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) is an IPL franchise based in the city of Kolkata, West Bengal. They are two-time IPL champions of 2012 and 2014 and also one of the most successful IPL teams.

KKR didn’t have a great season in the recently concluded IPL season. They finished 7th on the points table with just 6 wins in 14 games. They played a certain kind of cricket under coach Brendon McCullum and the new captain Shreyas Iyer, but that did not augur really well due to a lot of chopping and changing with the playing XI and injury to Varun Chakaravarthy also didn’t help their cause.

Let’s take a look at their current squad and then make the expected KKR retained players 2023 list-

Shreyas Iyer(c), Aaron Finch, Abhijeet Tomar, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Indrajith, Sheldon Jackson, Sam Billings, Mohammad Nabi, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Aman Khan, Anukul Roy, Umesh Yadav, Shivam Mavi, Chamika Karunaratne, Tim Southee, Varun Chakaravarthy, Ashok Sharma, Harshit Rana, Pat Cummins, Ramesh Kumar, Nitish Rana, Pratham Singh, Rinku Singh.

Out of these 25 players, KKR had retained 4 players before the auction and bought 21 players in the auction.

KKR retained players before the IPL Auction last season- Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, and Varun Chakaravarthy.

1. Andre Russell– Probably, the most-trusted player by KKR management, Andre Russell was retained for IPL season 22 for INR 12 crores. He performed incredibly well and again proved his worth to the IPL. Andre was KKR’s highest wicket-taker with 17 wickets in 14 matches and their 3rd highest run-scorer with 335 runs, after Shreyas Iyer and Nitish Rana. We are all versed with Russell’s ability to hit sixes and win games impossible for his side. He showcased his power hitting by smashing 32 sixes in the season.

Verdict for IPL 2023- 100 percent Russell will be retained by the Kolkata Knight Riders.

2. Varun Chakaravarthy- The mystery spinner of KKR was retained by them for INR 8 crores before the auctions. However, he could only pick 6 wickets in the 11 games that he played and he gave away runs at an economy of 8.51 runs per over. However, Varun has done exceedingly well for KKR in IPL 2020 and 2021.

Verdict for IPL 2023- Varun should get more chances and will be retained given his ability to pick regular wickets with his mystery bowling.

3. Venkatesh Iyer- Venky featured in IPL for the first time in the 2021 season second-leg. He impressed everyone in only 10 matches, scoring 370 runs and taking his side to the IPL 2021 finals, following which he was retained by KKR for the next IPL season. Venky failed to repeat his dream performance in IPL 2022, he could only manage 182 runs in 12 innings at an average of just 16.55 while getting dropped and picked again in some matches.

Verdict for IPL 2023- Venky will be retained, most probably for the 3d skills that he brings to the team.

4. Sunil Narine- Narine was the 4th player to be retained by the Kolkata franchise for the season and it proved to be the right decision for the team. Narine had the best economy of 5.57 in the tournament and also picked 9 wickets with few contributions from the bat.

Verdict for IPL 2023- Sunil Narine to be retained by KKR.

Read more:- IPL 2023 Retained Players List & All 10 Teams Released Players

KKR players bought in previous IPL auction-

Umesh Yadav- Yadav was fantastic with the new ball picking 1-2 wickets every time in the powerplay. He picked 16 wickets in 12 games in the tournament and also had the purple cap on his head for some time.


Shreyas Iyer– As KKR captain, this was Shreyas’ first season. He did come good with the bat while as captain he is still learning.


Sam Billings– Billings’ performance was average overall but he did play some good knocks managing 169 runs in his 8 innings. Sam’s wicket-keeping was good overall.


Ajinkya Rahane- Rahane started the campaign with a well-made 44 but could score well after that following he was dropped. Ajinkya was again picked but failed to make a mark.


Nitish Rana- Nitish Rana scored 361 runs in 14 games at an average of 27.77 and played a crucial role in the 6 victories that KKR was able to secure.


Tim Southee- The Kiwi-paceman played 9 matches scalping 14 wickets in all at an economy of 7.85.


Aaron Finch– The player which has the most no.of team jerseys in the IPL, Aaron Finch failed to make a mark again this time and might have to find a new team in IPL 2023.


Baba Indrajith– Baba featured in 3 games for KKR and could only score 21 in 3 matches.


Abhijeet Tomar- Abhijeet got just 1 chance in the last match of the season for KKR.


Rinku Singh- Rinku was the emerging star of the season for KKR. He played a match-winning knock against RR and against LSG, Rinku smashed 40 runs off 15 balls as KKR fell short by just 2 runs.


Pat Cummins- Pat Cummins was bought by KKR in 2021 for 15.5 crores then released and then bought again in the next IPL auction for 7.25 crores. Cummins played 5 games and he won a game for KKR versus MI scoring 56 runs off just 15 balls with the bat.


Shivam Mavi- The U-19 star of 2018 played 6 games for KKR in the previous season and took 5 wickets, his economy of 10.31 remains a concern.


Mohammad Nabi- The Afghan veteran unfortunately could not get a single game in IPL 2022.


Sheldon Jackson- Jackson played only 5 games scoring just 23 runs in the entire tournament. Failing to impress the management, Sheldon might have to feature in the IPL 2023 released players list.


Anukul Roy- Anukul got 2 games and scalped 1 wicket in the tournament.


Chamika Karunaratne– The Srilankan is yet to make his IPL debut.


Aman Khan- He only played one game in the entire season.


Harshit Sharma- He featured in 2 games of the season and took one wicket.


Pratham Singh, Ashok Sharma, and Ramesh Kumar are yet to make an IPL debut.


Want to know:- Who is the Most Dangerous Batsman in IPL

Performance being the parameter, the below-mentioned players make the retained players list. Rest might feature in KKR released players 2023 list.

IPL 2023 KKR retained players list (expected)

  • Shreyas Iyer(c)
  • Nitish Rana
  • Andre Russell
  • Sunil Narine
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Varun Chakaravarthy
  • Pat Cummins
  • Rinku Singh
  • Tim Southee
  • Venkatesh Iyer
  • Sam Billings

KKR will hope for better performance in IPL 2023 and will also sign some new players in order to add depth to their squad. Their core (main players) are expected to be almost the same with Shreyas Iyer leading the charge with a new head coach.