Mr. Mayank Tater 27, Jun 2022

In the Ranji Trophy finals, Madhya Pradesh outplayed Mumbai and won the finals convincingly. It was an emotional moment for the MP players and coach Chandrakant Pandit who broke down after the historic victory. 

Mumbai managed to score 374 in the first innings courtesy of Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 78 and Sarfaraz Khan’s 134. It looked like a really good score but MP batted really well and batted the opposition out of the game. MP managed 536 with centuries from Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, and Rajat Patidar.

With a healthy first-innings lead MP was then in a comfortable position to win the game. They bowled out Mumbai for 269 in the second innings and had to chase a low target of only 108. They did that comfortably with only four wickets down. 

Captain Aditya Shrivastava described the victory as a moment of a lifetime. He said,” Completely ecstatic. Generation kind of time has gone by since MP won the Ranji Trophy for the first time. It is the moment of a lifetime for me. The emotions are deep, we are trying to laugh it out but we are extremely emotional from the inside”.

The emotions in the camp were high as they rejoiced in this amazing victory. Captain Shrivastava handed the trophy to 18-year-old Akshat Raghuwanshi who scored a century on his debut this season as the team posed with the title. 

Himanshu Mantri, Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, Parth Sahani, Rajat Patidar, Aditya Shrivastava, Akshat Raghuwanshi, Saransh Jain, Kumar Kartikeya, Anubhav Agarwal, and Gaurav Yadav were the 11 men from Madhya Pradesh who scripted history. 

Coach Chandrakant Pandit added another title to his coaching career and now has 6 Ranji Trophy titles as a coach. He had led Mumbai to 3 titles, Vidarbha to 2, and now Madhya Pradesh to one.

Player of the Match- 


Player of the Tournament –