Ashok Kumar Bagri 31, May 2022

The purple cap was introduced in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on May 13th, 2008, and has been awarded every year since then to the player who has taken the most wickets in the tournament. The highest wicket-taker in the Tata IPL gets prize money of Rs 15 lakh along with the purple cap.

In this article, we take a look at all the winners of the coveted purple cap, its history, and what it means to hold it. It will guide you through every detail of the purple cap winners in Tata IPL 2022.

Top 10 Highest Wicket -Takers in IPL 2022


So you want to know who will win the purple cap or the highest wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League? So here is a list of all the highest wicket-takers in the IPL.

Read more:- Orange Cap Winners: Highest Run-getters of IPL 2022

Player & (Team) Wickets Ave Overs Econ
Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 27 19.51 68 7.75
Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) 26 16.53 57 7.54
Kagiso Rabada (PBKS) 23 17.65 48 8.45
Umran Malik (SRH) 22 20.18 49.1 9.03
Kuldeep Yadav (DC) 21 19.95 49.4 8.43
Josh Hazlewood (RCB) 20 18.85 46.3 8.1
Mohammed Shami (GT) 20 24.4 61 8
Harshal Patel (RCB) 19 21.57 53.3 7.66
Rashid Khan (GT) 19 22.15 63.5 6.59
Prasidh Krishna (RR) 19 29 66.3 8.28

There are 10 players who have more wickets in their IPL 2022.

1. Yuzvendra Chahal (RR)

Yuzvendra Chahal

2. Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB)

Wanindu Hasaranga

3. Kagiso Rabada (PBKS)

Kagiso Rabada

4. Umran Malik (SRH)

Umran Malik

5. Kuldeep Yadav (DC)

Kuldeep Yadav

6. Josh Hazlewood (RCB)

Josh Hazlewood

7. Mohammed Shami (GT)

Mohammed Shami

8. Harshal Patel (RCB)

Harshal Patel

9. Rashid Khan (GT)
Rashid Khan

10. Prasidh Krishna (RR)

Know more about >>> Tata IPL 2022: Records Broken This Season
So that was all about the race to the purple cap in IPL 2022. Hope you enjoyed reading our blog.