Mr. Mayank Tater 18, Jul 2022

Mumbai Indians are the most successful IPL franchise, with 5 IPL titles to its name. The franchise was founded in 2008 and is based in the city of Mumbai, and owned by one of India’s biggest companies, Reliance Industries, through its subsidiary IndiaWin Sports.

Mumbai Indians History

The IPL franchise became one of the strongest cricket teams after winning back-to-back titles in 2019 and 2020 under the leadership of captain Rohit Sharma and coach Mahela Jayawardene.

However, during the initial years of 2008-2009, Mumbai Indians were not the best team but became a force from 2010 and onwards. They won the IPL title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. They are also the 2013 Champions League winners.

Mumbai Indians’ Motto and Logo Design

The motto of the Mumbai Indians’ team is “Duniya Hila Denge Hum”, which translates to “We will rock the world.”

The logo of the Mumbai Indians is the Sudarshan Chakra, and the jersey color of the team is blue with gold stripes.

Mumbai Indians Home Ground-

The Mumbai Indians play their home matches at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The stadium is owned by the Mumbai Cricket Association and has a seating capacity of 33,108 people.

Read more:- Who is the Best Cricketer in India 2022

2012 Mumbai Indians Squad

Player Nationality Role
Sachin Tendulkar Indian Batsman
Harbhajan Singh Indian Bowler
Aiden Blizzard Australian Batsman
Yuzvendra Chahal Indian Bowler
Abu Nechim Indian Bowler
Munaf Patel Indian Bowler
R.P. Singh Indian Bowler
Rohit Sharma Indian Batsman
Richard Levi South African Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav Indian Batsman 
Jaydev Shah Indian Batsman
Lasith Malinga Sri Lankan Bowler
Pragyan Ojha Indian Bowler
Dhawal Kulkarni Indian Bowler
Pawan Suyal Indian Bowler
Clint Mckay Australian Bowler
Mitchell Johnson Australian Bowler
Aditya Tare Indian Wicket-Keeper
Dinesh Karthik Indian Wicket-Keeper
Tirumalasetti Suman Indian Batsman
Sushant Marathe Indian Wicket-Keeper
Ambati Rayudu Indian Batsman
Thisara Perera Sri Lankan All-Rounder
James Franklin New Zealander All-Rounder
Herschelle Gibbs South-African Batsman
Dwayne Smith Barbados All-Rounders
Robin Peterson South-Africa All-Rounders
Kieron Pollard Trinidad And Tobago All-Rounders

Captain of Mumbai Indians In IPL 2012

The God of cricket, Sachin Tendulkar, stepped down as the Mumbai Indians captain before the start of the IPL 2012 season. Sachin mentioned that he had discussed his decision to leave the captaincy with the Mumbai-Indians owners before making the decision. He said, “At this point of time, I feel I need a break from the responsibility of captaincy of the Mumbai Indians.”

Following this, Sachin Tendulkar, along with the franchise owners, decided to hand over the captaincy of the Mumbai Indians to Harbhajan Singh. So, Harbhajan Singh was named the 2012 Mumbai Indians captain.

Looking to know:- Sachin Tendulkar’s 100 Centuries List: Test, ODI and IPL

Mumbai Indians 2012 Performance-

The Mumbai Indians won 10 games out of 16 games of their league matches and finished at 3rd position at the end of the league stage. However, they lost the playoff match- eliminator and came 4th in IPL 2012 under the leadership of Harbhajan Singh, the captain of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2012.